Tory Leadership

‘Great big yawn fest,’ star candidates sitting out Conservative leadership race, fear losing next election: insiders

'Stephen Harper became prime minister of a G8 country for 10 years because he took that risk. We don’t have many risk takers out there today,' said one party insider.

Five Conservative MPs, including Kellie Leitch, Maxime Bernier, Deepak Obhrai, Tony Clement, and Michael Chong are declared leadership candidates for the contest scheduled for May 2017. Conservative MPs Michelle Rempel and Lisa Raitt are considering a run. Former justice minister Peter MacKay, Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall, and businessman Kevin O'Leary are also said to be considering a run for the top job in the Conservative Party.The Hill Times photographs by Jake Wright

PUBLISHED :Monday, July 18, 2016 12:00 AM

If you are already a subscriber

Subscribe to The Hill Times

Subscribe to the digital and/or print editions and get instant access to The Hill Times online.

Quick Purchase

Purchase Story Issue in electronic format (PDF) for $5.00.