Conservative Party’s unity to be tested in federal leadership contest, say some Conservatives

It's the party's second leadership convention since it was formed in 2003 when the Canadian Alliance and Progressive Conservative parties merged to form the new Conservative Party of Canada. Some Conservatives say it's unclear if the party can withstand the stress.

Five Conservative MPs, including Kellie Leitch, top left, Maxime Bernier, Deepak Obhrai, Tony Clement, and Michael Chong are declared leadership candidates for the leadership convention scheduled for May 2017. Conservative MPs Michelle Rempel, above left, and Lisa Raitt are considering a run. Former justice minister Peter MacKay, Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall, businessman Kevin O’Leary and Conservative MP Brad Trost are also said to be considering a run for the top job in the Conservative Party. The Hill Times photographs by Jake Wright

PUBLISHED :Monday, Aug. 1, 2016 12:00 AM

If you are already a subscriber

Subscribe to The Hill Times

Subscribe to the digital and/or print editions and get instant access to The Hill Times online.