Visible minorities elected to Parliament close to parity, a remarkable achievement

On Oct. 19, 46 visible minorities were elected: 39 Liberals, five Conservatives, and two NDP MPs.

There 46 MPs elected who are visible miniorities in the Oct. 19 election. They include Conservative MPs (top row) Alice Wong, Bob Saroya, Deepak Obhrai, Michael Chong and Ziad Aboultaif; Liberal MPs (second and third row) Emmanuel Dubourg, Raj Grewal, Hedy Fry, Marwan Tabbara, Celina Caesar-Chavannes, Anju Dhillon, Shaun Chen and Omar Alghabra; and NDP MPs Anne Minh-Thu Quach (second from right, bottom row) and Jenny Kwan (bottom row, right).Photographs courtesy candidate websites

By Andrew Griffith

PUBLISHED :Thursday, Oct. 22, 2015 4:22 PM

If you are already a subscriber

Subscribe to The Hill Times

Subscribe to the digital and/or print editions and get instant access to The Hill Times online.

Quick Purchase

Purchase Story Issue in electronic format (PDF) for $5.00.