Pragmatic Albertans will only vote Liberal if they can form government, observer says

In part three of a series on electoral redistribution, we look at how the opposition parties are hoping to gain from the six new seats in Alberta.

Independent MP Brent Rathgeber says he’s optimistic he will be able to win the next election as an Independent in his solidly conservative riding of St. Albert-Edmonton. Two-term Liberal MLA Darshan Kang, centre, thinks the Liberals can win seven to 10 Alberta ridings in the next federal election. He said that the riding of Calgary Centre, currently represented by Conservative MP Joan Crockatt, is one of the 10 ridings Liberals believe they can win. NDP MP Linda Duncan was first elected in Edmonton-Strathcona in 2008 and remains Alberta’s only NDP MP. The Hill Times photograph by Jake Wright and courtesy of Darshan Kang and Joan Crockatt

By Abbas Rana

PUBLISHED :Friday, Aug. 29, 2014 11:38 PM

If you are already a subscriber

Subscribe to The Hill Times

Subscribe to the digital and/or print editions and get instant access to The Hill Times online.

Quick Purchase

Purchase Story Issue in electronic format (PDF) for $5.00.