Seven candidates registered for Liberal leadership, Takach says next leader could determine Grits’ fate

With less than a week left before the registration deadline for the federal Liberal party leadership race, only seven candidates were officially registered with Elections Canada as of Tuesday, despite a prediction from one of the contenders, Toronto lawyer and longtime Liberal George Takach, that the contest could be the party’s last chance.

Justin Trudeau, top left, George Takach, Joyce Murray, Martha Hall Findlay, Marc Garneau, above left, Karen McCrimmon, and Deborah Coyne are so far registered to run for the federal Liberal leadership. The Hill Times photographs by Jake Wright and courtesy of candidates

By Tim Naumetz

PUBLISHED :Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2013 10:05 PM

If you are already a subscriber

Subscribe to The Hill Times

Subscribe to the digital and/or print editions and get instant access to The Hill Times online.

Quick Purchase

Purchase Story Issue in electronic format (PDF) for $5.00.